April 12, 2019 @ 11:30 am – 6:00 pm
NYU Tandon Pfizer Auditorium
5 Metrotech Center
Brooklyn NY
NYU ITE Student Chapter

NYU Tandon is hosting the annual ITE Traffic Bowl for the Northeastern District. This competition features teams comprised of up to 3 students testing their knowledge of ITE, transportation planning and engineering topics as well as some fun categories. The winner of the Northeastern ITE district competition will advance to compete in the Collegiate Traffic Bowl Grand Championship, which is conducted annually at the Institute’s International Annual Meeting and Exhibit.

Links below are good resources for understanding how the competition looks like and relevant quiz material:

The winning university will represent the Northeast District at the ITE International Annual Meeting in Austin, TX July 21-24.

If your team is interested in participating in Traffic Bowl competition, please contact tandon-ite@nyu.edu.

The event will also include a student poster session. Students from institutions in the Northeastern District are invited to submit abstracts for posters, which will be reviewed by ITE and NYU representatives. Potential topics include but are not limited to:

  • Transportation Planning and Policy
  • Transportation Operations and Control
  • Intelligent Transportation Systems
  • Transportation Infrastructure Design and Construction
  • Sustainable Mobility and Access
  • Transportation Economics and Finance
  • Pedestrians and Bicycles
  • Transportation Security
  • Transportation, Energy and the Environment
  • Transportation Safety
  • Connected & Automated Vehicles

Abstract submissions are due on March 31st, 2019, and should be sent to tandon-ite@nyu.edu.


Event Agenda:

11:30-12:00 Registration

12:00-12:10 Welcome Remarks

12:10-1:00 Mentor Lunch

1:00-2:00 Poster Session

2:00-2:30 Coffee Break

2:30-5:00 Traffic Bowl

5:00-6:00 Closing Remarks & Pizza Social

Free lunch, coffee/tea and dinner will be provided!


Confirmed mentors:

Ray Tam, GPI
Marvin Souza, NYCDOT
Peter Kozey, Jacobs
Ben Yeung, Sam Schwartz
Seth Zubatkin, HDR
Ira Quiat, AECOM
Sofia Duran, VHB
Jonathan Schneider, VHB
Elaine Du, AKRF
Sanam Lakhwara, AKRF
Shravya Markandeya, Michael Baker International


Team Registration for Traffic Bowl

Event program: